Uncategorized

Wk4-Activity- Painting

IMG_0715

This weeks activity was to create out own artwork with spray paint in the form of graffiti. We had to sketch our names in bubble letters and spray paint over it.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to make it to Venice this weekend, so I decided to just do it at my house. I think it would have been really awesome to go to Venice because I love all the amazing art work on the walls. After watching a movie in class about graffiti, it made me see art in a completely different way. I just thought graffiti was just a way for people to just break the rules and just paint what they see, but it is so much more than that.

IMG_0708

Before I started to spray paint, I was kind of nervous because I thought I was going to mess up. So my friend, Albert came over and we decided to do it together. He found a box outside of his dorm room and we just used that. When he got to my house, we cut the box in half and started to sketch our names out. It took us about twenty minutes to sketch the bubble letters on the card board box because it was so rough. Finally, we went to the front of my house and we just started spraying. It was actually easier than I thought it was going to be because if you mess up you can just spray the other color over it and it will look like nothing happened. After I was done spray painting my name, I decided to make a cool design out of it. While I was spraying, my dog kept trying to lick my master piece. It was so funny and he almost peed on it.

In the end, my art work came out pretty good. Of course it is not the best work I have other done, but it might be one of the most fun things I have ever did. Graffiti shows so much art and passion within each painting. It is a way for people to express themselves in their own creative way. I have always admired people who can express themselves in the things they love doing the most.

IMG_0709

Leave a Reply

