Uncategorized

Wk 10- Activity- Game Design

Wow…. I can say this activity is probably one of the most confusing, but also the coolest thing that I have probably ever done. This weeks activity was to download an app called Geocaching.  It is a recreational activity of hunting for and finding a hidden object by means of GPS coordinates posted on a website. I honestly have never heard of this app until my teacher talked about it in class. When he was talking about it, I was so confused because I didn’t think that people would actually use and do this app. My adventure with finding these geocache was harder than I thought.

First off, I told my cousin Mary to come with me because I did not want to do it alone and get lost. So after downloading the app, I checked where the closest geocache and went to it. It was only 0.4 miles away from my house, so I thought it was going to be easy to find, but it wasn’t. It took us along time to find it because I didn’t understand the map. Thirty minutes later, we finally found it. It took a while to find because it was hidden in the bushes, but when I found it I thought it was so cool. They left a baby magazine in there, so I ripped a piece of it out and put one of my objects in there. It was so funny because when people would walked by us, they would ask us if we were looking for the geocache . I did not realize that so many people knew about it.

IMG_1166 IMG_1168 IMG_1171 IMG_1172

After we left that spot, it was my turn to leave my geocache somewhere. It took me a while to think of a place to put it, but I finally figured it out. I decided to put it at this mini deserted park( Mathew Parkette) by my house because I wanted to put it somewhere that know one would ever expect. When I got there, I automatically noticed this cool plant and so I just put it in there. It took me a while to tag my place in my phone, but I finally figured it out. In my altoid box I put paper clips, beads, my dads business card, feathers, and etc.

IMG_1173 IMG_1174

I thought this activity was pretty fun, but it was one of the hardest things that I have done in this class. It was hard reading the maps, and plugging in the my geocache information on the app. I would never have thought going to the places that geocache led me to would be where they were located. Unfortunately, the coordinates weren’t popping up at the park so I couldn’t put my exact location, and get the URL. I tried everything in my power to do it, but I just couldn’t find it.  I got to experience knew places around my area that I never experienced before. I really liked this activity and I can’t wait to keep using it to see what I can find.

Leave a Reply

