Uncategorized

Wk 11- Activity- Fiber Art

This weeks activity was pretty different. Our activity was called Fiber Art which refers to fine art whose material consists of natural or synthetic fiber and other components, such as fabric or yarn. It focuses on the materials and on the manual labour on the part of the artist as part of the works’ significance, and prioritizes aesthetic value over utility. For this project, I used one of my old shirts and tie-dyed it. Its funny because I just recently tie-dyed this specific shirt last week with my friend so it was perfect timing to make it.

IMG_1265

First off, I grabbed my shirt from my friends house because I left it there to dry. I was kind of disappointed because I did not turn out how I wanted. When I got home, I was trying to figure out what to do with it. I grabbed the scissors, but I thought about it and I decided that I didn’t want to cut it because I just recently dyed it. Instead of cutting it, I just rolled up the sleeves and tied a ribbon on it so it can look different. After looking around some more, I found a random rope lying around my house.

IMG_1267

Once I found the rope, I started playing around with it to see how to design my shirt. Next, I was debating to see where to hang my shirt, so I found a shirt hanger and decided to use that. When I hung my shirt and put the rope around it, it looked exactly how imagined it. I wanted it to look like a old goddess shirt because greek gods and goddess’s inspire me. After a while, I noticed the rope I grabbed was the one I sewed a couple years ago in my art class. I didn’t recognize it at first, but my mom said that was the one I did.  Of course I got some help from my grandma back then, but it is cool that I had the opportunity to use it again. I wanted to make my fiber art design super simple because the simpler it is, the more abstract it looks in my opinion.

After working on this project, it made me realize that I want to work more with fiber art. This project was really fun to work on, but it was pretty difficult trying to figure out what I should do with my shirt. I did learn something knew such as how and what fiber art was. The results was suppose to look little better, but it still turned out really well. Next time, I want to design something from scratch such as a sweater, socks, scars, and etc. Overall this was fun and I am glad I had the opportunity to do this.

IMG_1263

Leave a Reply

